The public worship of God is the central act of the church. Through hymns and anthems, the reading and interpretation of the Scriptures, prayers, sermons, and the sacraments we celebrate God's goodness and seek to understand God's challenge to us both individually and corporately. As the worship service closes, we are sent out into the world to serve in a variety of ways, using the multitude of gifts God has given us.


10:30 am Worship - Sanctuary (1st Floor)

11:45 am Fellowship - Niccolls Hall (1st Floor)


The Sacrament of Holy Communion is served on all of the feast and festival days (Christmas, Baptism of the Lord, Transfiguration, Maundy Thursday, Easter, Pentecost, Trinity, World Communion, All Saints, Reign of Christ) as well as the six Sundays during Lent, the four Sundays of Advent, and once a month in the summer. On most occasions we receive communion by intinction which means that worshipers are invited to break a piece of bread from the loaf and dip the bread in the chalice as we "feed upon Christ in our hearts and are strengthened" for the work to which God calls us.

Presbyterians believe in an open table, at which all Christians are welcome. Baptized children who have instruction in the meaning of communion and the permission of parents may participate in the sacrament.


The Sacrament of Baptism is administered in a public worship service to the children of members. Adults may also receive baptism when joining the church and professing faith for the first time. Those wishing to be baptized should make an appointment with the pastor to talk about the meaning of baptism. Baptism may be celebrated on any Sunday of the year except the Sundays during Lent.


We welcome children in worship and believe that the participation of children in worship is essential in their spiritual development. Through the sights and sounds of the worshipping community, children learn the faith "that lived first in your grandmother Lois and your mother Eunice" (II Tim. 1:5), and will live in them.

After Sacred Space, the children (Kindergarten thru 3rd Grade) attend Music Class which follows the theme and scripture from worship. Because Holy Communion is a sacrament of the entire community, the children always return to worship for communion.

Each Sunday our children are invited to participate in Sacred Space, which is a time in our worship service when the pastor "wonders" with the children about one of the great stories of faith. 

Opportunities for children to participate in church events and holidays are a fun way to get involved!  



Advent is a four-week period in which the church not only looks forward to the birth and incarnation of Jesus Christ, but also to the return of Christ. This season is observed for the first four Sundays prior to Christmas. The traditional liturgical color for this season is blue.


Christmas is the festival of the birth of Christ and the celebration of God's coming among us as a human being. The Christmas season begins on Christmas Eve and ends with Epiphany (January 6). The traditional liturgical color for this season is white.

Ordinary Time I

Following the Christmas season, there is a period of Sundays in which no special festival or occasion is being observed. Liturgically, this is known as Ordinary Time, and there are two periods in the liturgical year which have this designation. The first comes after Epiphany (January 6) and lasts until Ash Wednesday (the beginning of Lent).  The traditional liturgical color for this season is green, except on the Baptism of the Lord Sunday when the liturgical color is white. The sermons and liturgy during Ordinary Time focus on the "ordinary" issues, problems, hopes, and needs that we all face in our daily living and discipleship.


Lent is a season of forty weekdays and six Sundays, beginning on Ash Wednesday and culminating in Holy Week. In this season, the church remembers and contemplates what it means to be a disciple of Jesus. Holy Week, the last week of the Lenten season, relives Jesus' final week in Jerusalem, from his triumphal entrance into Jerusalem (Palm Sunday), to his last meal with his disciples (Maundy Thursday), to his actual crucifixion (Good Friday). The traditional liturgical color for this season is purple. On Good Friday the cross is draped with a black shroud.

It remains this way until Easter Sunday.


Easter is a fifty-day season consisting of seven Sundays, beginning with Easter Sunday (marking Jesus' resurrection) and ending with Pentecost (the birth of the church through the gift of the Holy Spirit to Christians). The focus of this season is the hope of new life that we have now that God has defeated the power of sin and death through the resurrection of Jesus. The traditional liturgical color for this season is white, except for Pentecost, where red paraments are used.

Ordinary Time II

This second period of Ordinary Time begins on the Sunday following Pentecost and lasts until Reign of Christ Sunday. The new liturgical year begins on the first Sunday of Advent (the Sunday closest to November 30). Unlike the first period, this second period does contain some special observances, including Trinity Sunday and All Saints' Day. The traditional liturgical color for this season is green.


In our tradition, the funeral/memorial service is called A Service Giving Witness to the Resurrection. It is a reminder that for Christians this worship service is an opportunity to give thanks to God for the gift of life, to stand with particular families in their grief, and to give witness to our resurrection faith. Members may wish to schedule an appointment with the pastor to discuss their wishes at the time of death.

Join us for worship every Sunday at 10:30 am
at the corner of Westminster & Taylor in the Central West End


4501 Westminster Place

Saint Louis, MO  63108

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

©2018 by Second Presbyterian Church. Proudly created with